growing pains

my son has been acting more like a boy, less like a toddler lately.  i’m getting awfully sentimental about it.  same thing happened when i realized he was a toddler and not an infant anymore.  ch-ch-ch-ch-changes.

i was helping him put on his jacket after supper so that he could join the kids outside, and it hit me again – his shag-curly hair hanging in his bright blue eyes, taller than when i kneeled last in front of him (what, three hours before?) – my baby is growing into a boy, one day to be a man.  my heart broke a little as i cupped his face in my hands and said, “Liam, where did my little baby boy go?”

he locked eyes with me, grinned from ear to ear and replied, “i’m right here, Mom.” 

the future flashed before me:  the same question, the same response as he goes off to his first day on the job.  wearing his cap and gown on a spring morning.  heading back to college after Christmas break.  on his wedding day.  holding his first child.

ah.

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in mama, the minis. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to growing pains

  1. stealthmama says:

    man! i know this one deeply! my heart aches as my son grows…not because i love him better, but because it’s different between mother & son. henry is almost 4. he is reading short words. he is even getting a little less generous with his kisses!

    great to read of your tender moment. i’m going to give my boy a big tackle when he wakes up…speak his language. 🙂

  2. Don Lutterman says:

    I know the story all to well…but it also applies to my “little girls”, too…….ah..:( … 🙂
    Love ya, Dad
    XXXOOO
    So Sweet! The changes never stop..

Leave a Reply

