utmost

Been trying to read along with My Utmost For His Highest lately.  This line from today’s reading caught me:

“My goal is God Himself, not joy nor peace, nor even blessing, but Himself, my God.”

Well that will cause a person to stop in their tracks, eh?  Especially a person trying to reconcile a few things from her evangelical past.  Especially for this stay-at-home mama whose husband just lost his job.  While it sinks in today, while I strip away another layer of my selfishness, I’ll try to refocus.  Not on a hope of a miracle, or blessing, or great move of His hand, or ecstasy or the sublime.  Just Him.  Fall away, stuff of Earth. 

Then sings my soul, my Savior God, to Thee.  How great Thou art.  How great Thou art.

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in spirit, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to utmost

  1. Anna says:

    I love that quote! thanks for sharing =) Will pray for your hubby to find a job soon!

Leave a Reply

