mama told me there’d be days like this

It’s been one of those weeks.  I did it to myself.  Started potty training my adorable and impossibly stubborn son;  started a new, intense workout routine (ouch); fervently trying to carve out time to keep up with { watched pot } and my reading; and my witty, silly, flamboyant daughter’s personality has recently taken a turn for the terribly sassy.  Time for mama to dig in.  R-E-S-P-E-C-T.  Find out what it means to me, kiddos. 

Progress requires patience, and while I’ve asked for and received loads of it this week – more than I humanly ever have on reserve – I used it up frivolously and let it run out.  Last afternoon was breakpoint.  I screamed (at the kids.  shameful.).  I cried.  I shut down.  I’d had it. 

But mercies are new every morning, and after a sleep cut short by two wet beds (one of them twice), I awoke with resolve (tempered with a load of grace) to regain the upper hand around here.  Over breakfast, I found an audio Bible podcast for the kids (that oughta straighten them up.  ha. HA.), and while we listened, it was clear – yet again – that He was talking to me more than the minis:

“I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kindgom of heaven.  Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.  And whoever welcomes a little child like this in my name welcomes me.  But if anyone causes one of these little ones to sin, it would be better for him to have a large millstone hung around his neck and to be drowned in the depths of the sea.” (Matthew 18:3-6)

And, just like that, I was looking across the breakfast table at the minis with fresh eyes.  “Welcome Me.”  Welcome Me on the potty, welcome Me in the nonsensical conversation, welcome Me in the daily routine of care.  Yes and Amen. 

What a responsibility I have to these two new, beloved souls.  And what a friend I have in Jesus.  All our sins and griefs to bear.

 

PS – ain’t he cute?  what a dadgum flirt.

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in spirit, the minis. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to mama told me there’d be days like this

  1. Erin says:

    UGH is right! We have ALL been there. Jesus is so sweet and gentle. Thanks for the post Lindsay.

Leave a Reply

