we’ll take a cup of kindness yet

Ah, the eve of a new year.  New decade!  The biggest ten years of my life so far – so much change, self-awareness, learning, change…the turn, turn, turning.  I hope I’ve come ’round right.  But the world keeps turning, and we all should, too.  Redefining, refining, repenting, renewing. 

I’ve mixed feelings about this year.  I easily remember the high points, and many of those surround family and friends.  If there were lower points (oh yes, there were), they were either superficial, filled with worry, or drawing me down to my knees.  It’s been a posture I’ve found myself in a lot this year.  Hard on the pride, good for the soul.  I’m continually reminded that the secret to a good life is a surrendered posture.  The more I can surrender my need for control, the more I can lay down my selfishness, the more I am finding joy.  Joy in the mundane, in the small things, in both solitude and in community.  

God’s been good to us this year – kind in his discipline, lavish in his grace.  December was especially wonderful for me – a thorn in my side removed, the awareness of His constant provision for us, a settling in to myself, my roles as wife, mother and creative woman.  I’m not very good at articulating my introspection, but it’s there.  

So here’s to 2009.  A year of endurance.  I hope I’ve run it fairly well.  And here’s to 2010, and whatever it brings, I have hope set firmly in what does not wither.  I can weather it.  My theme this year may just be the old Shaker adage:  Hands to work – Hearts to God.  There’s a hand, my trusty friend – give me a hand of thine.  Cheers.

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

