resolved

moiI normally don’t make new year’s resolutions.  However, since a word or theme to focus on this year hasn’t come to mind yet, I do have a few things I’ve resolved to do that I’ll publish here.  Michael and I have talked over the past few months about how this is the year to set things straight.  We’ve been a little helter-skelter in our personal lives, and now is the time to bring order.  So, in the interest of having more peace, less chaos, more energy and more of myself to give away, here’s what I am planning for myself:

1.  Read the Bible every day. A lofty goal, as I always fall short, but I figure as long as I’m reading it more days than I’m not, that’s an improvement from last year.  I don’t know why this is such a struggle.  My days are better when I do.  I need to draw closer to my Redeemer.  My generation doesn’t know Scripture like those past, and I don’t like that, not at all.

2.  Establish fitness in my daily routine. I need to lose a few anyway, and we want to model a more active lifestyle for our kids, so it’s time to detox the temple & square up the walls.  My goal is to work out four times a week.

3.  Live a little more routine-ly. I hate schedules, but this hasn’t served me well.  And while I don’t want to be hard-bound to one, I plan to go to bed earlier, get up before the kids (#1 & #2 ideally happening then), set aside time twice a week to create, and to get out of the house more.  Cabin fever is killing me softly.

4.  Get away from the screen. If I’m going to make time for these other things, then the technology’s gotta get powered down.  No, I’m not swearing off “24”, Facebook, my blog or e-mail, but checking into the computer less and spending my evenings reading, socializing, or with Michael instead of watching TV can’t hurt me.  I want to be outdoors more.  I want to be in the world, not watching it happen on a screen.  I need to cultivate more real and less virtual relationships.  A wise pastor once said, “You are the books you read and the friends you have.”  I think that’s true.

I hope these resolutions serve to make space for the things that need it in my life: including God, community and service.  I think they will allow me a little more life between the lines, to live each day from a spirit that’s alive.  To becoming a better wife, mother, and me in 2009.  Cheers.

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in lists, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to resolved

  1. Evie says:

    Good resolutions, Lindsay. You’ve got resurrection power flowing on your insides; I know you can do it!

  2. caron says:

    yes! i’m into scripture memorization, too. i wanna hide it in my heart NOW! i’ve been thinking a lot about what you wrote in this post. you did it—you made resolutions!

  3. Darci says:

    Hey Linds,
    Loved your new year’s resolutions…all worthy and certainly daunting even to me. I’ll pray for you for strength to fulfill them.
    I am also adverse to routine, but like you function much better when I have one.
    Love the sailor pic.! Reminds me of the WC party…such good times!

  4. caron says:

    um, i didn’t see mona vie on the list. hrmpf.

  5. michaelnlindsay says:

    yeah. well, i’m being sucked into the mona vie vortex, one way or another. so consider it a given.

    update: i’ve been going to bed at 10:30 (weeknights) and getting up at 6:30 so far, but my goal is 6. been reading ye olde Bible almost every day, working out 4 times per week. i’ve only lost a couple of pounds, but i think it’s because they’re the last stubborn 15. grr. i’ve been spending naptimes on tuesdays and fridays doing artsy stuff. it’s felt really good. i feel a little more balanced. now if i could just back off facebook a little bit more… 🙂

Leave a Reply

