i like living here

I’m hoping today that some positive self-talk will help me combat the sometimes-angst I have about renting this duplex. We’ve been feeling the pull lately toward buying a house – low mortgage rates, buyer’s market, having a backyard, etc….but we feel like we should stick out the rest of the lease (til next summer) and wait. There are rumblings afoot that have us thinking and rethinking about where and how we should then live. So for now, for the sake of contentment and gratefulness, here we go:

Why I Like My Duplex

  • The locust tree in the front yard. I love the way the leaves flicker, the shape of the trunk, and the bright yellow it turns in the fall. It’s a good climbing tree and has a great limb just begging for a swing. The branches swing low in front of my picture window. I’ve been blessed with great trees everywhere I’ve lived.
  • Before they built a four-story self-storage place on Center Street, I could see all the way to the hills of the Westlawn-Hillcrest cemetery from my bedroom window. I think cemeteries are beautiful. The fog on the hill was neat to see in the mornings. My sister lives on the other side of the cemetery. She can see it from her dining room window.
  • I live on a quiet street, right in the hustle-and-bustle of midtown. There’s a bank, two coffeshops, a grocery store (where my brother is a manager), two gas stations and numerous restaurants all within walking distance. And I’m a short bike ride away from the two biggest parks in Omaha. I’m also close to I-80. (Calgon, take me away!)
  • I have come to realize that I don’t need a sprawling house with rooms I don’t use to make a home a sanctuary for my family. To me, smaller is usually better and forces us to be more creative, to get outside a little more.
  • When bad things happen (and usually do – the neighbors act up, the sewer line comes forcefully out all of the basement fixtures, etc.), I just call the landlord instead of a contractor. Whew.
  • I have a huge living room window. I love windows. I can’t imagine living in a home without many windows. I love letting in light and fresh air, and I can do that here. And when I do, I hear the traffic on Center Street (music to this city girl’s ears!) and a train whistle almost every morning (indulging the 10% of me that could be rural).
  • I have finally figured out how to make a tiny kitchen work for me.
  • In a stroke of Providence, my church community meets right down the street. Hallelujah! (haha.)
  • I have neighbors all around me (our little circle is exclusively duplexes) and so we have a little (albeit loosely-knit) community, built right in. We have to bump elbows with them, whether we want to or not.
  • It’s easy to clean. Except for the flat paint on the walls. (grr.)
  • I have a HUGE finished basement – one big room for any and all kids to run to their hearts’ content, no matter what the weather. And they do. It’s our indoor playground. I have room for you, too, if you wanna stay the night.
  • Compared to our home in Des Moines, the bathrooms (yes – two!) rock. Tile. Shower. High window. Fan.
  • It’s cheaper than our home in Des Moines was. For more square footage, bathrooms and bedrooms. The only thing it’s missing is a dining room.

Ah, I feel better now. I was prompted by the little card I got from the bank teller yesterday. It said, “Happiness is being content with what you have: not wanting what you haven’t got.” (Coincidence, or did she see my account balance?) I guess living here isn’t so bad. In fact, it’s downright nice.

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in lists, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to i like living here

  1. Evie says:

    Yes, the fog and occasional train toots are very nice around here. Stick around for a while. :0)

  2. contactcards says:

    I like your duplex too! Stay strong, you never know what opportunities are around the corner! 😉

  3. Anna says:

    I love your place – you’ve definitely made it into a home for your family, instead of just a house. And I never knew that you had a basement – so much room to run and play!

Leave a Reply

