summersummersummertime

We just put the kids to bed.  I remember having to go to bed many a humid summer night when it was still light outside…I wonder if they hate it as much as I did.  I would lie there, bathed and sweating again in my t-shirt, perfectly still, trying to feel the breeze from the oscillating fan and hearing luckier kids still outside, using up the remaining daylight.

I hear the locusts outside tonight for the first time this year.  When that happens, I know I’m in the thick of the Nebraska summer, which smells like dry dirt roads, freshly cut grass, sweat and sun-tea.  I just got back from one of my favorite annual traditions (more about the Whocares weekend later!), and am feeling refreshed and in-touch with the non-mom, non-wifely side of me that tends to get a bit dusty.  Am diving back into my duties with renewed energy today.  Listening to the locusts’ chant seems to connect me to that little girl again, remembering summers past. 

I feel it all, I feel it all / The wings are wide, the wings are wide / Wild card inside, wild card inside…

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in daily. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to summersummersummertime

  1. randel says:

    loved your blog post, for so many reasons! i remember the same things– all the other kids tearing up the neighborhood, while i was lying in bed. i’m SURE my kids lament their evenings in bed, down before every one else… poor things are in bed by 7:45! we live in a cul-de-sac, where they are all out riding bikes and playing. anna katherine’s room overlooks the street, god love her!

    i also appreciated your comment about our nonmom, nonwife side getting a little dust on it. i feel the same way! time with girls is always such a gift! (wanna go somewhere??)
    love you friend!

  2. hausfrau78 says:

    nice post, dusty.

    good to see you at the old brazen head last night. see you at the farmer’s market tomorrow?

  3. caron says:

    aaaah. i loved that weekend. how does it keep getting better and better and better?! i think my next motion is for “quarterly” reunions! ha!

    you steamrolled that tongue-twister. you oughtta be an auctioneer.

  4. hausfrau78 says:

    you SHOULD go to the farmer’s market on stilts. i was there, but i went pretty early. people were really friendly today, but it’s still not as good as seeing you.

Leave a Reply

