she says the darndest things

Reese has been on a roll lately.  She’s been trying to up the ante with her vocabulary lately…the other night she came home after a particularly hot day to say, “Man, I’m sweatin’ like a crazy house!” (translation:  Michael usually says “I’m sweating like crazy in this house!” on a nightly basis while cranking up the A/C.)

But today…today takes the cake.  I thought it would be a great idea for Reese to start learning how to write the ABCs, so I sat down with her after lunch with her Magna-Doodle thingy and wrote “A a”.  Right.  Reese would rather have drawn spiders.  Or panda bears.  Or camels.  So after a few minutes of trying to get her to focus and write an “A”, I gave up and started writing out words and having her find the “A” in them.  Nebraska, Lindsay, Ainsley, etc.  Finally, I wrote out “Apple”, and said, “Hey, Reese, let’s spell this one.  Can you tell me all the letters in this word?”  And she immediately said:
“B-E-E-R!”

You can’t make this stuff up, folks!  She said it twice before I realized what she was spelling.  I couldn’t stop myself from laughing out loud.  Thing is, I know for a fact she can’t read, so I know she didn’t see it somewhere and remember to save that gem for later – I really think this was a random letter combo she just spit out.  (I am wondering if she inverted the spelling of her name, too.) It may be the funniest thing she’s ever said.  So if you haven’t gotten in a good belly laugh today, I hope that does it for ya.  Sure did it for me!

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in the minis. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to she says the darndest things

  1. adetrich says:

    Hee!
    L, this is a gorgeous pic of Reese! Definitely a keeper!

  2. Ranae says:

    This just cracks me right up. She might be her father’s child. 🙂 This picture is amazingly cute. Anna is right; she is gorgeous. 🙂

  3. caron says:

    hahaha!! that IS sooo funny.

  4. Lori Eilers says:

    That is hilarious! It’s so funny how they will repeat the craziest things. Great pic, too!

  5. jane says:

    that is awesome! you have some great kids lindsay. i agree…that pic of reese is great!

  6. michaelnlindsay says:

    not ‘might’. she IS her father’s child. 🙂 that pic was taken on my parents front porch. gotta love summer nights on the front porch.

Leave a Reply

