comfort food

Last night I made pork chops in the slow-cooker, and realized that they have to be one of my all-time favorite comfort foods. I feel cozy & comfy when I have a chop on a plate with some sort of potato (potatoes put the comfort in comfort foods!).

It’s been a comfort food week. I also made my mom’s oven-fried chicken – finger-lickin’, lip-smackin’ good! (I love-love-love fried chicken.ย  Cold or hot, it matters not.ย  Sorry, Randel.) And, when Jane was here I had meatloaf and homemade cheddar biscuits. I wonder if somewhere in my psyche I’m trying to console myself about something: this long, long winter, perhaps?

Next week, Katie‘s coming over for another one of my favorites, pasta & bacon! (specifically, Cheryl’s carbonara recipe) Need to get: the recipe for Alicia‘s blueberry orange bread. Had some this morning and it was sooo good with orange slices & coffee.

What’s your idea of comfort food?

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to comfort food

  1. Ranae says:

    Ooh…mom’s pot roast! Mm hmm. I do like meatloaf too. It sounds like you were on a mission this week! When do I get my home cooked meal? ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. randel says:

    i can just picture you chewing on that raw bacon next week, thanks to that one post of yours! ๐Ÿ™‚
    i need some good comfort food recipes. and i prefer they are EASY. i’m kind of a creature of habit when it comes to meals (i.e. BORING cook)…

  3. Evie says:

    Mom’s chicken n’ rice casserole and any Latino or Italian cuisine.

  4. caron says:

    split pea soup comforts me. anything that someone else has made. ooh, i love homemade mac & cheese.

  5. Cheryl Dyer says:

    Some sort of noodle casserole– tuna noodle, homemade mac n cheese, strogonof, 2nd on Caron’s split pea soup, pancakes, grilled cheese & tomato soup…

  6. cool dad says:

    this has made me incredibly hungry. can i cheat and just say, all of the above!

Leave a Reply

