so tonight, i’m cleanin out my closet

This weekend went way too fast. I think I’m a weekend warrior, so I’m pretty bummed out until 9AM most Monday mornings. However, the coffee’s on (Guatemala Antigua, one of my favorites), Reese is occupied, Liam is napping, and I can deal. This weekend was particularly short because we didn’t really get going – everyone’s in some stage of a nasty cold. I have escaped the worst so far, which makes me the designated hitter. In other words, I was the one who didn’t get a weekend! Everyone else got to watch movies, lounge, and generally get away with being cranky. So finally, at 4 AM, I got a little pouty. Okay, full disclosure – I did take an hour nap while watching “The Sands of Iwo Jima” yesterday. While everyone else was napping, of course. How I slept through all that artillery, I don’t know. Good news: American forces took the island from Japan. Bad news: John Wayne died.

Two things I did accomplish this weekend that felt good (both to me & my insanely organized husband): mountains of laundry were washed, dried & folded. AND (most important), we sorted through the kids’ clothes and mine. Made a big Goodwill pile, put some in storage to give to friends later, handed down some of my t-shirts to Reese for pj’s, put a few items away for keepsakes, and straightened up all the dresser drawers. Liam is now 13+ pounds (at 6 weeks! help!), so he’s out of his infant clothes….not to panic, though. Thanks to two friends who have boys, the sense to save some of their old clothes and the generosity to share some with me, I got tons of good-fitting and cute clothes for our little man (newly dubbed “Big Business”). He’s set til summer! I could not be more grateful. Thanks, Al & Cheryl.

Dare I take a shower? Or a power nap? Tempted to watch “The Aristocats” with Reese again…

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

