growing pains

Michael’s mom came over yesterday and offered to take Reese for the night….I’d been putting it off, this whole spending-the-night thing, for no good reason. I think I just wasn’t ready, and with Liam on the way, didn’t want my little chick far from the nest. I dunno. She ended up spending the night at my parents when Liam didn’t arrive ‘on time’, and with all the flurry I didn’t really think about it.

But yesterday I relented, packed her suitcase, and off she went to Granny’s for the night and most of the day today. It was great, actually – I got to sleep in and she had the best time. I watched Michael get Reese in the car, and as they drove away, that durn lump sprung up in my throat. Our little girl is growing up, going away from home, venturing out without us….I was surprised at how emotional I got over the whole thing. Today her room was too neat, the duplex too quiet. I missed her! But seeing the look on her ornery face was worth the growing pains – she was so proud, having a night at Granny’s all to herself. I am already afraid that the next sixteen years are going to go by lickety-split, leaving me holding the camera, hoping to catch just one more memory.

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to growing pains

  1. Evie says:

    And maybe sometime when her Aunt Evie isn’t at home, sick with the flu, Reesie can spend time over here, too! :0)

  2. amain says:

    Oh, I am so glad that I am not the only Mom who is glad to get a little extra sleep when the kiddos are at Grammy & Papa’s, and at the same time wish my sweet girls were still at home…just sleeping in themselves:)
    LOVE the pix of Reese with her suitcase…super cute!!!

  3. darby says:

    man, i feel your pain. i feel a sort of “nostalgia in advance” for ben all the time.

  4. caron says:

    wow. the neti pot. amazing.

Leave a Reply

