catcha flick

Seeing as how we’ll be at home a lot this winter with a new baby, Michael & I’ve been having movie nights at home, thanks to our Blockbuster queue. We just watched “The Namesake” this weekend….what an intelligent and touching movie! You must see it. The intro and ending titles and soundtrack alone are beautiful enough, and the message of the movie is poignant.

Also worth checking out: “3:10 To Yuma”. Best western (ha!) we’ve seen in a loooong time. Good stuff. Christian Bale’s character was powerful. I haven’t watched a cowboy movie that I’ve thought about for a few hours after watching it. This one I did.

Sidenote: I LOVE historical biographies & documentaries. So when my friend, Caron, suggested I check out “The Shakers” by Ken Burns, I queued it up. Waiting for that one to arrive.

PS – to balance out all my movie/TV watching, I’ve been reading “The Kite Runner” (thanks, Evie!) when I’m nursing Liam in the middle of the night. (It helps me stay awake at 2 A.M.!) I’ve never been to Afghanistan, but reading this, I feel like I’m there. Beautiful novel dealing with guilt, grace & atonement.

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to catcha flick

  1. Jane says:

    “The Kite Runner” is an excellent read. I think it would be super cool to teach it some day…hmmm. Thanks for the movie suggestions. Gives me some focus when we walk the movie wall at Blockbuster. If ya’ll ever want company for movie night on a weekend (’cause scott’s usually busy weeknights with school stuff) let us know. We’ll bring food with us 🙂

  2. cool dad says:

    Got here through the Hambricks. Thanks for the recommendations! We like movies that are a little different and these sound right up our alley.

Leave a Reply

