fill ‘er up

I am hungry all the time now. Wish it was me going through a growth spurt, but alas. The baby is getting huge and kind of demanding about how much food I eat. Since I’m running out of room for a full stomach, I am eating smaller meals all the time to satisfy Little Man.


I was shopping the other day and was looking for another bar (I love my Lunas, but they’re getting old) to throw in my purse for when I just have-to-have-something-now…and found these Fiber One bars. I mowed down on one the other night while watching ‘Transformers’ with Michael, read the ingredients as I swallowed that last chewy, oaty, chocolatey bite and almost threw up. There in the ingredient list, tucked between ‘chickory root extract’ and ‘high fructose corn syrup’ (what was i thinking?!), was ETHANOL and SHELLAC. Ahem. You read it right. Which lead me to think, should I really be ingesting the stuff my car runs on? (Unless your car runs on veggie oil, then by all means, eat up! And go visit the Live Lightly Tour link on the right-hand side of this page.) And, in the interest of full disclosure, with 35% of your daily fiber in that little bar you’re sure to wolf down in 10 seconds flat, your system will treat it like ethanol, much to the chagrin/revulsion of your spouse. Trust me on this one. Sorry, babe.

So I found a better alternative. You have got to try THESE bars. They are soooo much better for you (low glycemic and truly delish)…Kashi’s GoLean Rolls. I’ve tried ’em in Chocolate-Peanut and Caramel-Peanut. High in fiber and protein, too. YUM. My system thanks me for the switch. And so does Michael.

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to fill ‘er up

  1. amain says:

    oh, Lindsay, you make me LAUGH!!! Your words are so, well, descriptive:)
    Miss you, girlfriend!

  2. steve and randel hambrick says:

    can i just say that fiber one bars are a staple for many peeps on weight watchers.. (see the oats and chocolate ones are only 2 points). i’ve been through about 50 boxes… yes, i knew about the chickory root, but not so much about the ethanol and shellac..yikes.. and they are affectionately called “fart bars” on many websites that review foods.. 🙂
    maybe i’ll give go lean bars a chance!

  3. Lori Eilers says:

    Oh-my-lan-ta…you always make me smile!

  4. Jane says:

    Lindsaylu, as always your blog entertains me, but this post made me laugh out loud. I love the little insights into ya’lls live. BTW, the pictures of Reese’s room are adorable! When we have kids (in two to three years…don’t be getting any ideas!) I want you to help me decorate the room 🙂 love you! JMac

Leave a Reply

