yum

My midwife told me that I could stand to gain a little more weight – specifically in the form of protein and calcium. Since I’m currently responsible for growing another human, I oblige. Are you thinking what I’m thinking? CHEESE! Beside clogging my digestive system with cheese, I have become a huge fan of protein bars….I can eat them whenever hunger strikes (which is usually at all the wrong times), and take them wherever I go. Are you into energy bars? What are your faves? Right now I’m mowing down Kind bars (almond & apricot), Clif Mojo (mountain mix) bars, and Luna (lemon zest or chocolate peppermint) bars. LOVE them. They are so good for me, low glycemic, high fiber & folic acid and good on protein. They get me thru the late morning or mid-afternoon. It’s becoming an obsession…

Anybody got a good recipe for making your own (bars or granola)? If so, post it in the comments!

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to yum

  1. angelasustala says:

    I love healthy bars – they are so easy to take along…especially for a good kid-snack!
    My faves are almond butter bars (from Whole Foods) & Organic Food Bars (chocolate greens). We also make our own…yummy & healthy (but a little sticky)!
    Flax Crisps:
    1 cup brown rice syrup
    1 cup nut butter (I use almond, but you could use peanut or whatever you like)
    1 cup ground flax seeds
    4 cups rice puffs (I use the organic, no sugar kind)
    Warm syrup over low heat, 3-5 min. Remove from heat & stir in nut butter until melted. In a large bowl, mix flax seeds & cereal. Pour into nut butter mixture. Put in 9×13 dish & refrigerate until firm. I cut them into bars and wrap individually in plastic wrap for a quick take-along snack!
    I actually made these for Jordan’s birthday party one year and was amazed at how ALL the kids gobbled them up! Like they were full of sugar or something! 🙂 Enjoy!

  2. sarah beth says:

    Luna has long been my favorite!
    i always have a few stashed away for the inevitable sugar crash and nothing else available.
    my favorite was chocolate covered cherry, but the bums stopped carrying it! can’t find it anywhere.
    new favorite: toasted nute & cranberry.
    mmmmm….

  3. steve and randel hambrick says:

    i have a great recipe for granola, but i need to find the energy to actually get it and enter it in for you. sorry for my laziness today. 🙂

    p.s. SO glad you are blogging again!

  4. lindsay says:

    post it, you punk! i’m starving!

  5. Lisa Little says:

    I’ve tried this recipe, but added more marshmallows so they weren’t so dry. Probably not as healthy as some, but it does taste like a rice krispy bar, and they are high in fiber.

    No-Bake High Fiber Energy Bars

    1/4 cup honey
    1 (10oz) pkg marshmallows or 6 cups
    2 cups old fashioned rolled oats
    4 cups All Bran cereal
    1 cup peanuts dry roasted and unsalted

    In saucepan, combine honey and marshmallows and melt over low heat. In bowl combine other ingredients well, then mix with honey/marshmallow mixture until well coated. Press into 9×13 pan with wet or greased hands-will be sticky. Cut into bars, leave in pan to refrigerate. (when cold they will certainly give your jaw a workout!) Or do what I did and eat a bunch of it when it was warm and gooey!

  6. SpartnPrincess says:

    Odwalla bars…they are on sale 10/$10 right now at HyVee. I’m currently eating the “trail mix” version and it is scrumptious. The ones I’ve eaten are decent and they have a lot of variety.

Leave a Reply

