art, finally

After nearly eight months of 40% creative block and 60% distraction, I finally finished this piece for Rhys’ room. I am really, really, pleased with it. For all you scrappers out there (I won’t lie, I’ve tried – but I’m just not), I used scrapbooking supplies (namely, the “Bohemia” line from My Mind’s Eye. They’re one of my favorites.): rub-ons (on top of the glass – the lady at Archiver’s said they wouldn’t stick. Not so!), double-sided paper, and some transparency-like die-cuts. The only thing that I didn’t find at a scrapbook store were the transparencies that I printed the quote onto. It’s from “Peter Pan”. We saw the quote framed at a local store and loved it, so I decided to use it in the piece. Hopefully it will spark Rhys’ imagination. It’s fanciful, I think. The window frame itself is from Habitat for Humanity’s ReStore. (Go there, if you haven’t already. There’s a location in Omaha and in Des Moines.)

Once we hung it up, Rhys looked at it and said, “OH! Pwetty!” Another satisfied customer.

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to art, finally

  1. Dara says:

    Oh Man – I LOVE it!!! Im going to have to come over now.
    too neat.
    hope to see you tomorrow – we should do lunch…
    dara

  2. Anna says:

    love the art, love the quote.

  3. jane says:

    that is beautiful lindsay! and i wish we could do lunch…have a good day!

  4. Anonymous says:

    love it!!!
    JMac

  5. caron says:

    wow! looks great, l.

    i love it. good work!

  6. Spartan Princess says:

    L-O-V-E Love it! You do good work woman. πŸ™‚
    R~

  7. sarah beth says:

    okay, NOW i can comment!
    i love the art!! i need you to teach me how to do it.
    i agree with Rhys. it’s beautiful. πŸ™‚

  8. Al says:

    it turned out so well…. I hope that you are pleased with it in the nursery after just imagining it there for the last few months. it was worth the time and effort – it is fabulous.

Leave a Reply

