zzzzzzzz

This week has been a full one for us – a lot of brainstorming, planning, doing. On top of that, Rhys and I haven’t been feeling well (I guess I was past due for my annual end-of-winter cold). Last night we went to Lowe’s, did the homeowner thing and spent more than we should have, came home and put the kiddo to bed, caught up on ‘Friday Night Lights’, and realized that it was only 10:00. Woohoo! We were giddy – early to bed! Usually Michael is the night owl – I used to be, but since having Rhys, I’ve quickly realized that the only way to get a decent amount of sleep is to turn in before 11. As Michael noted, I am just a person who needs my sleep. It’s funny – I remember staying up til 2 or 3 in the morning during my freshman year of college, sleeping in til noon and not thinking twice about it. Now the thought horrifies me – mostly because I know that there is no way (unless I drug my daughter) that I’m going to be sleeping in til the sun is high in the sky.

So last night, we ran upstairs, racing to see who could hit the sack first, singing Chumbawumba’s, “Tub Thumping” (!) all the way. Michael cheated – he used mouthwash instead of brushing his teeth. It was like a slumber party, giggling at how lucky we were for this rare chance to sleep for almost nine hours. What luxury! There’s an old song from the 1890s called “Please Go ‘Way and Let Me Sleep”, where the singer sleeps through the house burning down around him. This morning, drinking my coffee more out of habit than really needing the caffeine, I realized something about myself: if you love me, let me sleep.

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to zzzzzzzz

  1. caron says:

    what a great post! i love this one!

Leave a Reply

