good friday


It IS a good day, indeed. This year, I am feeling the gravity of this, the most significant week in Christendom (and for the Jews as well, for Passover). ‘Good Friday’ comes from the Old English “Godes Friday” (God’s Friday). Oh, that every day would be God’s day!

Darby posted today’s liturgy from the Book of Common Prayer on the whocares blog, and I’ll repost it here:

“Almighty God, we pray you graciously to behold this your family, for whom our Lord Jesus was willing to be betrayed, and given into the hands of sinners, and to suffer death upon the cross; who now lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever, amen.”

Amen! As we ponder the mystery of a God willing send his only Son to die so brutally for the world He loves, may His ressurection also be real our hearts.

An old hymn I love this time of year:

O Lord my God, when I in awesome wonder
Consider all the worlds Thy hand hath made
I see the stars, I hear the rolling thunder
Thy power throughout the universe displayed

And when I think that God, His Son not sparing
Sent Him to die, I scarce can take it in
That on the cross, my burden gladly bearing
He bled and died to take away my sin

When Christ shall come, with shouts of acclamation
And take me home, what joy shall fill my heart
Then I shall bow in humble adoration
And there proclaim, “My God, how great You are!”

Then sings my soul, my Savior God, to Thee
How great Thou art! How great Thou art!
Then sings my soul, my Savior God, to Thee
How great Thou art! How great Thou art!

(lyrics by Carl Bobert, 1886)

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to good friday

  1. Don Lutterman says:

    And when I think that God, His Son not sparing….what love for you and I….truly when you think about it….can you take it in?

    Glory to God in the Highest!!

Leave a Reply

