music of the night

On Saturday night, Michael and I went to see the “Phantom of the Opera” onstage. In a word, breathtaking. Literally. A. Ma. Zing. I’ve seen a few musicals before, but this – we were riveted. And by that I mean, I got a cramp from sitting in rapt attention for so long! When intermission came, we could barely move. The man who played the Phantom had the best tenor I’ve ever heard (he’s in the picture)…..strong, passionate and tortured. Michael said he got shivers when the Phantom sang “Music of the Night”. The sets, the singing, the special effects, the great seats, it was too much! I wondered how many women in the audience (besides me) wanted to be Christine (the female lead) that night. By far the best birthday present I’ve ever received – thanks, baby. It was a night we won’t forget. I almost cried when it was ending…I fear I am turning into a big sap. If I could have purchased a ticket for the next night, I would have. We were singing “Masquerade” around here all day yesterday. Michael usually hates going to the theater, but the “Phantom” made him a believer. If you haven’t seen it, GO next time it’s anywhere near you. I’m still trying to shake off the feeling – you know that feeling?….When you see an epic movie, go to a rock concert – and it takes you somewhere else? Yeah – I’m still trying to shake it.

Anybody else seen “Phantom”? What was your experience?

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to music of the night

  1. Lori Eilers says:

    Girl, I am so jealous!! Good for you, you guys deserve a nice evening out. Randy and I splurged last year and went to the Lion King so I know what you mean about the experience. It was incredible. If it comes to town again, I’m gonna do whatever it takes to go. Maybe I can sell balloon animals on the street corner. 🙂

  2. Dara says:

    i guess i don’t know that feeling but i can’t wait to experience it one day – my friend Lara told me that I would love the phantom – she went in fayetville ar. guess i need to go.

  3. lindsay says:

    you MUST go! have you seen the movie? the movie was amazing too….but the stage version – i can’t say enough about!

    the national tour will be in Las Vegas for the next three months at the Venetian. there ya go. vegas, baby, vegas! of course, it’s also on Broadway. dara, THOU SHALT GO next time if it is anywhere near here!

  4. lindsay says:

    hey, selling balloon animals would be way easier and less painless than giving plasma, which is what i was considering to get another ticket! good idea…..

  5. Lindsay says:

    my experience with the phantom started when i was 8 and we would listen to the record… yes i said record. my parents and i would blast the music each saturday, with the house windows open, singing along as we cleaned house. i’ve seen it in the theater 3 times now and can’t get enough. saw the movie and was a bit disappointed. even get a little irritated when people say they love it so much b/c i tell them, the theater is way better. glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

