that little drumming boy

So I was running some errand the other day, and was feeling extra festive, so I tuned the radio to the Christmas music station. All of a sudden, “Little Drummer Boy” comes on….now I’m not a big fan of the song (probably has something to do with all the “rum-pum-pum-pums”), but it was the Bob Seger version, from “A Very Special Christmas”, circa 1987. Ahh. Something in Seger’s straining voice made me believe he was the poor boy at the manger, so moved by the baby King laying before him that he gives the best and only gift he can – some mad licks on the drums. When Seger got to the “I’ll play my best for Him, pah-rum-pum-pum-pum”, I teared up. And at the same time, was thinking “What the…?!” Michael and I have a saying when we get choked up – “it got me”. I think I was thinking about how I don’t really give Him my best all the time, or much lately, and that darn little drumming boy convicted me. He got me. All I wanted to be in that moment was a little girl standing before that manger, giving my heart to Him – my best and only gift. Pretty deep for a silly little song, eh? God really does have a funny way of getting my attention. So there I am, driving across town, Rhys in the back seat, wiping tears from my eyes, Bob and I and belting out “PAH RUM PUM PUM PUMMMM!” with all our might. Whew, boy. (I hope you’re chuckling, because I sure am!) In that moment, the words of “Little Dummer Boy” made it to my heart. Don’t know if that will happen ever again, so thanks, God, for speaking to me like only You can…..and thank YOU, Bob Seger. Bravo, twenty years late.

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to that little drumming boy

  1. Sara says:

    You crack me up girl 🙂 A very touching post indeed.

  2. Dara says:

    I love you – i have had the very same experience, but the way you said it was perfect- your thinking what? and then I do want to give you my best…. We have to get together – maybe after these crazy holidays slow down?

Leave a Reply

