if i could write the songs the whole world sings…

…then I would write one entitled, “The Obsessive-Compulsive Street Sweeper”. Seriously, how awful would that job be if you suffered from OCD? Let’s consider his plight for just a moment. It’s not a knock on people who do have OCD (my P.C. friends), so just think about it for a second. I just watched the street sweeper cover our block three times, and he still missed a bunch of leaves, especially at the top of the hill. If you’re like me, when you sweep you want EVERY LAST LEAF up and out of there – how do you deal with that in a street-sweeper? Would you feel like you hadn’t done your job if there was still debris on your route? I bet the most maddening time to be street sweeping would be a windy fall day, where you just-can’t-get-ahead of those blowing leaves! Or kids kicking leaves into the street behind you. Or the taxi driver in front of you flicking his cigarette out of his window. I’m getting worked up just thinking about it.

So, my musical friends, you’ve got your work cut out for you. Maybe I’ll try a musicless poem, just for laughs.

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to if i could write the songs the whole world sings…

  1. Sara says:

    You’re hilarious. That would be a great song.

  2. Dad says:

    Lindsay,
    You need to move back to Omaha…we don’t seem to have street sweepers here and then you wouldn’t have so much free time on your hands…just looking out the window…you are taking after your Mom…eating bon-bons,smoking cigarettes, watching soap operas, drinking beer..you Mom’s seem to have it made!!! I wish I didn’t have to WORK! (I know this should get her to e-mail me or call!!!:)

  3. the youngs says:

    oh yeah. mom & i don’t do anything. riiiiight. 🙂 i am totally telling on you!

  4. Al says:

    I don’t think the whole world will join in one unanimous rap together but here goes:

    I’m down with OCD
    Yeah, you know me

    I just sweep and sweep
    Can’t even stop to pee

    These flippin’ trees
    Won’t set me free

    Crazy OCD
    Yeah, you know me…

Leave a Reply

