crying over spilled milk

Last week my Mom came to visit. It was really cold and windy outside that day, so my plans to take Rhys and Mom to the orchard were out of the question. Instead, we went to lunch at Panera. I grabbed a cup of milk for Rhys on the way out the door, but apparently forgot to put the spill-proof washer in the lid. Oops. Threw the cup and Curious George into my purse and out the door we went. We got to Panera, ordered, and sat down. I reached into my purse for the sippy cup and came out with a milky hand and an empty sippy cup. Horrified, I looked into my purse to find C.G. floating face-down in an inch of milk. The cell phone was in there too, drowned at the bottom. My suede wallet was also half-submerged. By this point, there was a small puddle of milk on the floor.

Back up to the week before last. I found this awesome leather purse at the Gap, which a huge butterfly embroidered on the front. I never find a leather purse I like, and this one was so buttery soft and rich and brown and on clearance, so Michael bought it for me. I love it. Oh, that real-leather smell! I can fit a diaper and wipes and my wallet and a small refrigerator in there if I need to. The diaper bag has been hanging in the closet ever since.

OK, back to the scene at Panera. I almost came unglued. When bad things happen to me, my first response is denial. So I threw two handfuls of napkins in the purse, wiped off my phone and called it good until I got home. Well, when I got back home I had to clean everything in my purse, clean the lining, clean my wallet, go get a new cell phone (much to Michael’s chagrin), and clean the leather. The leather on the bottom is still dark and crusty. Man.

Moral of the story? Don’t love your purse too much. Take that ugly, waterproof diaper bag with you. And for crying out loud, have a good dry cleaner.

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to crying over spilled milk

  1. Kate says:

    Lindsay, you crack me up! Poor CG! You never said what happened to him!?! I MUST KNOW!

Leave a Reply

