hop on pop


I learned something new about Rhys this week: she is a voracious reader! She loves to read and be read to – especially repeatedly. She’s content to sit in the middle of the floor with a book, pretending to read out loud. Other times she wants to sit on the couch next to me and have me read to her. I’m pretty sure I read “Hop on Pop” four times in a row this morning alone. I think she likes the rhythm of Dr. Seuss. Mom says that I was a crazy reader too – which I sorta remember. The first book I learned to read was “Are You My Mother”? [or, as Mom says I called it “Are You My Mudder?”] Like mother like daughter, I guess. And so I shall leave you with this verse:

HOP POP
We like to hop!
We like to hop
On top of Pop!
STOP
You must NOT
Hop on Pop!

You say that four times in a row and try to get it out of your head the rest of the day.

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to hop on pop

  1. Al says:

    I was expecting like 10 comments already on such a fantastic picture of Rhys… she is so darn good lookin’!… Way to nurture a passion for reading… good job Young family! Every now and then Isaac will quote some line from Hop on Pop for no reason at all: “Pup in Cup!”

    hope to cross paths with ya’ll again soon.
    Al

  2. the youngs says:

    Could that picture be cuter? I don’t think so!

    I guess if I’ve done anything right, I’ve gotten that girl to love books better than TV.

    I hope we see y’all soon too!

  3. Aunt Evie says:

    Just like I said when you were in town last weekend, “Rhysy Physy!”

    So cute. :0)

  4. the youngs says:

    it’s ‘Rhysy PIECEY”, darn it! ‘Physy’ sounds like ‘feces’. NOT COOL! 🙂

  5. Aunt Evie says:

    Hey, you chose to spell her name that way! I’m just trying to make it all fit together! :0)

Leave a Reply

