vacation!


Tomorrow morning we leave for vacation in Okoboji. Yep, it’s still Iowa, but it’s fun. My family’s been going there since I was 5, and this will be the first time that Michael goes. I feel like a kid again, laying out my clothes and thinking about what I want to spend my money on at the Emporium. When I was little I always got a T-shirt made (gasp! custom t-shirts! how DO they do it?!), and a 1/2 pound of smooth n’ meltys from the candy shop to eat on the boat. My sister and I spent most of our packing time filling up our Caboodles with hair accessories, Tinkerbell makeup, and little things to play with in the car (why I always brought my polished-rock collection I still don’t know, but it seemed like a vacationy thing to do at the time). My Caboodle was dark purple with a hot pink handle and two rows of swinging trays inside. And a rotating mirror. When we’d get out of the car to go to our hotel room, each of us kids carried our Caboodle (maybe my brother had something else, I don’t remember) and a pillow.

I think this weekend is the University of Okoboji’s homecoming weekend. Which means nothing except for a 1/2 marathon and a lot more tipsy people roaming around Arnold’s Park. Hoo-rah!

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to vacation!

  1. Evie says:

    Correction: YOU carried the items like makeup in your caboodle. :0) I carried toys, dolls, writing paper, and games. Remember that game we had with the small silver marble that you had to manipulate around a course inside a small plastic circle (sorta like pinball)? I always took that with me. So, see you tomorrow? Are you going to pass the Wells Blue Bunny ice cream plant in Mars, Iowa? If not, Dad’ll eat your share of Bunny Tracks for you. I threw up last time I ordered “two scoops.” TOO MUCH! Soon you’ll be singing “Holiday Ro-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oad. Holiday Rooooooaaaaaad!” :0)

  2. Evie says:

    COrrection on me: Le Mars, Iowa- not Mars. SOrry!

  3. Julie Brown says:

    My family and I were just in Okoboji during the week of the 4th! It is a fun place to vacation at! I hope your family has a wonderful time! Don’t get sick on any rides at Arnolds Park. 🙂

  4. the youngs says:

    Hey, Julie! I’m so excited to see you check out our blog! Man, we just missed you in ‘Boji, huh? I bet the 4th was fun. I will try not to blow my oats in the Tipsy House. For some reason it always makes me feel sick by the end. I am such a wuss. 🙂

    PS – I got nostalgic today and checked out NWC’s website. I SO miss our freshman year. {sigh} Good times, good times!

  5. Evie says:

    Alright- I know you’re back now. Time to submit pictures. And tell something funny, like when Rhys puked in Cory’s mouth. :0)

Leave a Reply

