virtual sigh

Why is it that I hate growing up so much? Too many un-fun things to worry yourself with: the balance of your checkbook, the upkeep of your house, and the constant tug-of-war between your selfish self and your altruistic self. Oh. And doing dishes. I don’t know why I despise standing over the sink, hands in hot suds, scrubbing away at each and every dish we’ve used over the past 12 hours, but I do. Ask my mom, roommates or my husband. I was never the most detail-oriented when it came to doing dishes! This, I tell him, is why I need a dishwasher. Doesn’t seem to work, at least not yet. I just wanna sleep in, just wanna get on a plane with some friends and go to some exotic locale, just wanna blow our money on clothes! I think the transition from kid to adult was accelerated when we had our baby, but boy have I been dragging into it kicking and (inside) screaming! Wouldn’t trade it, though, so don’t get any ideas. Or tell Rhys.

There are good things about being an adult, though. When it comes to our daughter, I (we) am the boss! To her, I am the final say. Which is great but heavy at the same time. I get about 10 years of her absolute adoration – until she figures out that I don’t really know everything, and – horror of horrors – finds that I probably made a mistake (or two) in how we raised her. Another good “adult” thing: I can eat whatever I want, whenever I want! Seriously, how cool is that? If I want to order pop with my dinner, I can! (but it’s usually iced tea, so don’t worry, Mom) And if, right before bed I want to eat a quart of Reese’s ice cream, I can (and suffer the sugar high and heartburn, but it’s my prerogative)!

OK – since I’m whining, you tell me what you hate most about being a grown-up, and what you like best.

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to virtual sigh

  1. caron says:

    i really really don’t like late fees at the library or expensive car registration fees (goodbye nebraska! hello illinois, land of $20 pink slips!). but adulthood: i love coffee, wine, the maturity to override natural INFP-ness and to do right, & early morning.

    well, probably not all of those adult things together at one time…but in list fashion.

  2. Anonymous says:

    amen sister, all of the above! But especially having to say no to just about everything Carley is getting into or thinking about getting into. I know its just a phase, but right now thats the thing I hate the most. Oh, and I almost forgot. Being the bad guy, you know, Rhea(twelve years old)is teetering on the teen years so, when I would actually like to be a friend to her sometimes its better that I am her mother even thought she dosen’t feel like she needs one. I guess its the whole parent thing, that just kinda happened. Some days I am prepared, some days I am not!!!-Michea

  3. sarah beth says:

    i don’t like having to go to work everyday so that we can eat! the good old days when dinner was ready after you got off of school…
    i also don’t like how hard things seem to be.. when you’re a kid, you think the world is ending when you don’t get that piece of candy. when you grow up and see a kid crying over a piece of candy, you envy their innocence!

    what i like most: relationships. i love being known to the ugliest part and still being loved. i love being married. i like being able to drive! i like being able to cross the street by myself. 🙂 the independence is nice… well, sort of independence. some of that is gone after getting married, but it’s a good trade.

  4. Kate says:

    Lindsay! Can I hop on that plane with you? PLEASE! Sorry I have been bad about reading this site! You ROCK my world, little city girl!

Leave a Reply

