st. patrick’s eve

Why do I have this compulsion to celebrate every holiday? Saint Patrick’s Day is tomorrow – no, I’m not going to indulge in green beer – but I have this little quirk that makes me want to celebrate the holiday. Why, though? I’m not Irish, or Catholic, and don’t like green beer anyway. Why is it that Americans use any holiday (usually the minor, we-have-the-day-off-but-don’t-know-why holidays when your bank is closed and you don’t get mail) to prove how much alcohol they can throw down? I never understood that. Ah, well.

So I’m thinking. Why do we celebrate this saint, Patrick? Why do we eat the corned beef, do the pub crawl, wear green and pinch those who don’t look good enough in it to wear it? Dunno. But I do know that I am nerd enough to find out, so I Googled it….and of COURSE I’m going to post what I’ve found!

http://chi.gospelcom.net/GLIMPSEF/Glimpses/glmps075.shtml

Seems like Patrick was a wild man, standing up to the Druids and evangelizing the Celts of Ireland not long after the Roman Empire withdrew from the island. What is interesting to me is that he claims he was told by the Holy Spirit to go back to Ireland (after escaping slavery there) and tell the Celts about Jesus Christ. Kind of a prodigal. All this when he was only 22! (and of course, way before the Catholic church was organized)

I guess I can celebrate the life of a man who was wild, reckless and unbending in his devotion to his faith and who listened for the voice of God. Something tells me, though, green beer just won’t do it……Cheers!

About lindsay

just a girl, creator, reader, learner, homeschooler. wife to one and mother to two others. in the city and loving it. in pursuit of God and community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to st. patrick’s eve

  1. Kate says:

    Yeah, Patrick was the man there. Sadly, most people think more about green beer than why it is that this day should be celebrated. I grew up in a community that was predominately Irish Catholic, and incidentally, I never heard of drinking green beer until I moved to Omaha! Go figure…

Leave a Reply

